Short Bio

Professor Angela Casini completed her PhD in Chemistry at the University of Florence (Italy) in 2004, and, afterwards, moved to EPFL (Switzerland) as principal investigator funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation. Between 2011-2015 she was assistant professor at the University of Groningen (The Netherlands), holding a Rosalind Franklin Fellowship. Between 2015-2019, she was also Chair and Director of Postgraduate Taught Masters at Cardiff University (UK), before taking up her current position at TUM in 2019. At TUM, Angela is also Liesel Beckmann Distinguished Professor and Core member of the Munich Institute of Data Science (MDSI), as well as Associated Researcher of the Catalysis Research Center (CRC). Since December 2021, Angela is ad interim manager (kommissarischen Leiterin) of the Chair of Pharmaceutical Radiochemistry at TUM.

Honors & Awards

  • Elected Member of the European Academy of Sciences (2023)
  • Chair of the 2020 GRC “Metals in Medicine”, Andover, US (postponed to 2022)
  • 36th H. Martin Friedman Lecture -  Brooklyn College of The City University of New York, US (2021)
  • Liesel Beckmann Distinguished Professor (2019)
  • TGH Jones Memorial Lecture, University of Queensland, Australia (2019)
  • ACS Inorganic Lectureship Award (2019)
  • Burghausen Diamond of Chemistry Award (Chemiediamant) (2018)
  • 75th anniversary of the Seminario de Cultura Mexicana, Plenary Lecture - “Metals and the Brain”, Mexico City (2017)
  • Hans Fischer Senior Fellowship, IAS-TUM (2016)
  • International Scholar at Colorado State University, US (2016)
  • August-Wilhelm Scheer Visiting Professorship, TUM (2016)
  • Listed by Thomson Reuters as one of the “World’s most influential scientific minds” in the field of Pharmacology (2014)
  • Early career investigator in GRC Metals in Medicine “New Frontiers”, Andover, US (2014)
  • Visiting Professor at the University of Sassari, Italy (2013 & 2014)
  • Visiting Professor at the University of Burgundy, France (2013)
  • European Medal for Biological Inorganic Chemistry (2012)
  • Rosalind Franklin Fellowship, University of Groningen, The Netherlands (2011)
  • "Ambizione" fellowship, Swiss National Science Foundation (2008)